2006 Individual Merit


INDIVIDUAL MERIT for the John Coxill Trophy



Andrew Moss  (left) receives the Individual Merit "John Coxill" Trophy from the donor himself

The Premier League Merit, held at Bowring Bowling Club, on Sunday 30th July, was won for the first time by Andy Moss (Chester Road). 

There was 51 entries in total and last years winner Alan Davidson was beaten by Andy in the last 32.   

In a competitive final enjoyed by a well supported crowd throughout the competition, he overcame Dave King (St Georges) 21-18

In the final, Andy was soon 11-3 behind as Dave found his length right from the start but then Andy  enjoyed six winning end to level the match at 11-11. The lead was then regained by Dave and having led 17-14, he was 20-17 down as Andy hit top form. Dave saved game to make it 18-20 and was two on for 20 across but Andy played a dead weight bowl to clinch the end and the match and take the 150 first prize.

In the semi finals Andy beat Clay Flattley (Castlefields)  21-17 and Dave overcame Callum Wraight (Castlefields) 21-14

Pictured above are today's semi finalists with the Trophy donor John Coxill (Centre) 

(From left)   Clay Flattley, Andy Moss, John Coxill, Callum Wraight, Dave King,

Full Results

Last 16:  Andy Moss (Chester Road ) 21, Nick Davies (Ford) 10;  Roger Teague (Sir J Bayley) 21, Graham Dulson (Meole Brace) 20; Clay Flattley (Castlefields) 21, Graham Hollis (White Horse) 15; Peter Bound (Ford) 21, Chris Worthington (Sir J Bayley) 14;  Callum Wraight  (Castlefields) 21, Luke Jones (Castlefields) 10; Phil Emery (Newport) 21, Michael Dulson (Wem USC) 11; Dave King (St Georges) 21, Andrew Duckett (Chester Road) 16; Mark Holland (Chester Road ) 21, John Coxill 16:

Quarter Finals: Moss 21, Teague 17; Flattley 21, Bound 15; Wraight 21, Emery 13; King 21, Holland 17:

Semi Finals:  Moss 21, Flattley 17;  King 21, Wraight 14: 

Final:  Moss21 King 18: