2009 Individual Merit


INDIVIDUAL MERIT for the John Coxill Trophy


Farmer reaps familiar harvest as he wins title for sixth time.....................


Peter Farmer (left) receives the Individual Merit "John Coxill" Trophy from the donor himself

with Runner Up  Dave King pictured right


The Premier League Merit, held at Donnington Wood Bowling Club, on Sunday 16th August, was won for the sixth time by Peter Farmer (St Georges). There were 33 entries in total with 32 taking part.  Ten clubs were represented today and this represents a 33% increase on last year.

The final saw Pete Farmer, of St Georges, play his team mate Dave King and he ran out a comfortable winner at 21-14.

In the semis, Peter beat Charlie Weaver 21-20 in an enthralling match. The other semi saw Dave beat Dave Bicker from league newcomers The Bowring, 21-16.

Full Results

Last 16:  Rich Goddard (Castlefields) 13, Dave Bicker (Bowring) 21;  Ian Gaut (St Georges) 21, Gavin Taylor (Sir J Bayley) 17; Mel Jenkins (Wem USC) 7, Rich Lawson (Bowring) 21; Andy Duckett (Chester Road) 17, Dave King (St Georges) 21; Peter Farmer (St Georges) 21, John Coxill (Ford) 13; Mark Thomas (Meole Brace) 19, Wayne Phillips (Meole Brace) 21; Glyn Wellings (Meole Brace) 7, Charlie Weaver (Chester Road) 21; Glyn Picknell (St Georges) 19, Stuart Ruter (Wrockwardine Wood) 21.

Quarter Finals:   Bicker 21, Gaut 16; Lawson 13, King 21; Farmer 21, Phillips 6; Weaver 21, Rutter 12.

Semi Finals; Bicker 16, King 21; Farmer 21, Weaver 20.

Final Farmer 21,   King 14 :  


Pictured below are today's quarter finalists:- Back (from left) Wayne Phillips, Ian Gaut, John Coxill, Dave Bicker Rich Lawson.

Front Dave King, Stuart Rutter, Peter Farmer, Charlie Weaver