2012 Individual Merit


INDIVIDUAL MERIT for the John Coxill Trophy

Shropshire Premier Bowling League Individual Merit Competition

played on the green of Telepost Bowling Club on Sunday 19th August 2012

Bowring Players continues winning ways.............Rob Roden lifts the trophy for the first time..........

Pictured above are :- (from left) Liam Stevens (Highest break), Steve Roberts (Runner Up), Rob Roden (Champion) & John Coxill (Trophy Donor)

An entry of 28, more than double last years entry enjoyed a mainly dry day with the final played in summer sunshine to contest the 2012 Premier League Individual Merit at the Telepost Club in Shrewsbury. The competition was opened to the three non premier teams who played in the Alan Mayhew Trophy and six players represented Madeley Cricket Club and Hanwood. 

Rob Roden from the Bowring became the youngest winner of the “John Coxill” trophy when he defeated Steve Roberts 21-19 in an enthralling final in Shrewsburt today. Rob was in fine from from the start when he defeated “Six” time winner, Peter  Farmer 21-14. In the last 16 he beat Chris Lodge 21-16 and in the quarter finals, he defeated Liam Stevens, 21-18 and then beat last years winner and team mate Roy Bradburn 21-17 in the semi final.

To celebrate FURROWS 10 year sponsorship of the Shropshire Premier League, they provided additional prizes to today's winners. Following a meeting with Antony Frost earlier in the year, FURROWS kindly donated a  "Car Service" voucher for £100 and two golfing umbrella's.  One umbrella went to the highest break and that was won by Liam Stevens (Wrockwardine Wood|) with a break of 18 with Steve Roberts collecting the other umbrella. The £130 first prize and "car Service" voucher going to Rob Roden.


Today's scores

Quarter Finals

Danny Wornell (Ford) 21, Mark Selley (Newport 15;  Mike Fielder (Wem USC) 17, Steve Roberts (Wrock Wood) 21;  Liam Stevens (Wrock Wood) 18, Rob Roden (Bowring) 21; Colin Smith (Wem USC) 17, Roy Bradburn (Bowring) 21.

Semi Finals         Danny Wornell 17, Steve Roberts 21; Rob Roden 21, Roy Bradburn  17

Final           Roden 21, Roberts 19.