The Mike Hinton Trophy


7th May

St Georges pair take the Trophy...........

Pictured above are (from left) Chris Grocott & Dave Rhodes

with the donor Mike Hinton

The "Mike Hinton" Premier League Pairs, held at Bowring  Bowling  Club, on Saturday 6th May, was won in its third year by the St Georges pairing of Dave Rhodes and Chris Grocott.  It was especially sweet for Chris as he was runner up with Dan Hand in 2005.

In a competition boosted by  late entries on the day, 22 pairs from 9 clubs took part.  After nearly 8 hours of bowling, they overcame the Chester Road pairing of Charlie Weaver and Andy Duckett 21-10 in the final.  They were presented with the winners prize of 140 by the donor himself, Mike Hinton.

In the semi finals Rhodes and Grocott beat Alan Davidson and Phil Emery (Newport) 21-20 and Weaver and Duckett beat the S J Bayley pairing of Scott Lambert and Dennis Mayhew 21-17.

 Full Results

Last 16: Mark Holland & Paul Latham (Chester Road 21, Andrew Marshall & Callum Wraight (Wem USC/Castlefields) 5; Scott Lambert & Dennis Mayhew (S J Bayley) 21,Ryan Stevens & Simon Rhodes (Wrock Wood) 11; Peter Grimston & Chris Worthington (S J Bayley) 21, Simon Gerrard & Mark Worthington (Donn Wood)16; Charlie Weaver & Andy Duckett (Chester Road) 21, Tony Rhodes & Stuart Rutter (St Georges & Wrock Wood) 20; Gavin Taylor & Dave Birch (S J Bayley/Donn Wood) 21, Steve Pessall & Ian Pessall (Donn Wood) 5;  Dave Rhodes & Chris Grocott (St Georges) 21, Liam Stevens & Matthew Rhodes (Wrock Wood/ St Georges) 0; Dave King & Andy Stevens (St Georges & Donn Wood) 21, Nick Davies & Chris Kelly ( Ford) 15; Alan Davidson & Phil Emery (Newport) 21, Tony Cowdale & Jessse James ( Ford/Castlefields) 13; 

Quarter Finals: Lambert/Mayhew 21, Holland/Latham20;  Duckett/Weaver 21, Grimston/Worthington 16; Rhodes/Grocott 21, Taylor/Birch 7; Davidson/Emery 21, King/Stevens20:

Semi Finals: Weaver/Duckett 21, Lambert/Mayhew 17; Rhodes/Grocott 21, Davidson/Emery 20:

Final: Rhodes/Grocott 21, Weaver/Duckett 10:


Pictured below are the four semi finalists (from left) Dennis Mayhew, Scott Lambert, Phil Emery,

 Alan Davidson, Dave Rhodes, Chris Grocott, Charlie Weaver, Andy Duckett

with the donor Mike Hinton (centre)