The Mike Hinton Trophy


23rd June

Castlefields  pair take the Trophy...........

Pictured above are (from left) Simon Parsonage & Clay Flattley

20 pairs took part in the fourth Mike Hinton Doubles trophy today at Bowring. The final saw Simon Parsonage and Clay Flattley from Castlefields, who had earlier beaten reigning holders Dave Rhodes and Chris Grocott, take on Graham Dulson and Derek Wright from Wem USC. Wright and Dulson took an early 9-3 lead, but this was pulled back by Flattley and Parsonage bowling tight on a mark on the side of the green to go 14-9 up, including the only four of the game. But then Wright and Dulson pulled back to 14 across and then lead 20-16 on a mark across the green. But Flattley and Parsonage managed to pull it back again and within three ends won 21-20 in a close and highly entertaining encounter.

Earlier, Flattley and Parsonage beat Craig and Martin France from Newport 11 in the semi finals, while Dulson and Wright saw off St Georges pair Chris Ball and Shropshire junior, Rob Burroughs, 14.

Full scores:
Preliminary Round:
Ian Booth (Chester Road) and Paul Williams (Castlefields) 12, Scott Harries (Bylet) and Richard Morris (Wrock Wood) 21; Kane Beaman and Mark Worthington (Donnington Wood) 10, Mike Hinton (SJB) and Kevin Jones (Ford) 21

1st round:
S Harries and R Morris 18, M Hinton and K Jones 21; Martin and Craig France (Newport) 21, John Clarke and Martin Williams (Wrock Wood) 15; Dave Rhodes and Chris Grocott (St Georges) 19, Clay Flattley and Simon Parsonage (Castlefields) 21, Dave King (St Georges) and Andy Stevens (Wrock Wood) 13, Mark Holland (Chester Road) and Andrew Foster (AWC) 21; Nick Davies and Paul Middleton (Ford) 21, Andrew Duckett and Charlie Weaver (Chester Road) 11; Allan Gaut and Phil Clee (Wrock Wood) 14, Graham Dulson and Derek Wright (Wem USC) 21; John Coxil and Pete Griffiths (Ford) 12, Rob Burroughs and Chris Ball (St Georges) 21; Rob Jones and Dale Downes (Wrock Wood) 21, Chris Worthington and Peter Grimston (SJB) 17

Quarter Finals:
K Jones and M Hinton 13, M and C France 21; C Flattley and S Parsonage 21, M Holland and A Foster 9; N Davies and P Middleton 17, G Dulson and D Wright 21; R Burroughs and C Ball 21, R Jones and D Downes 7

Semi Finals:
M and C France 11, C Flattley and S Parsonage 21; G Dulson and D Wright 21, R Burroughs and C Ball 14

C Flattley and S Parsonage 21, G Dulson and D Wright 20



Pictured below are the four  finalists (from left) Derek Wright, Simon Parsonage, Clay Flattley & Grahnam Dulson

with the donor Mike Hinton (centre)